♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

I paint my boyfriend's toenails and he shaves my head | © Little Bits of Sheffield 2017 |  SP102070BWE

My decision to walk along a road which I rarely go down was rewarded when I stumbled upon this wonderful statement…

If I had a top ten favourite pieces of graffiti then I’m pretty sure this would be in the top five!

Another in my top five I found at Steeley Magnasite works near Hartlepool.  It’s worth a look: HERE

To celebrate a new entry into my top ten I thought I’d share one of my favourite songs from another local treasure (sadly they split up years ago).

2 thoughts on “♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Add yours

  1. Well spotted. Perhaps she is aiming to be immortalised like the piece on Parkhill! Especially nice in this era of Tory education cuts to see it all correctly spelt as well… I kind of think an annual graffiti award is something well worth considering, though I suspect it might not be easy to get people to accept.

    1. It’s rare to find a piece of graffiti that is likely to make everyone smile. My first thought was that it was a girl who had written it and I’m guessing it probably was but I equally there is no reason why it might not have been a boy. More interesting than who wrote it is perhaps their inspiration and motivation. Whatever it was they left me smiling…

      Do you remember the “Macho music is stupid” in an ally near The Dog and Partridge in the city centre in Sheffield? It was used by Richard Hawley on one of his record sleeves. There is a rather poor photo of it here: https://steelcitystatic.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/macho-music-s1/
      There were a couple of pieces at the Steetley Magnasite works that I found quite a few years ago and have stayed with me. One is here: https://postcardcafe.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/we-know-you-did-it-micky/
      and the other one is here: https://postcardcafe.wordpress.com/2010/07/15/on-the-good-ship-lollipop-12-dubstep-remix/
      An annual graffiti award is a great idea but in Sheffield it will be a while before this one is bettered!
      Best wishes
      Mr C 🙂

Please leave your comment in the box below

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

