45

45

Walk for 5 minutes and take a photograph from where you stand.  Repeat for the duration of 45 minutes to complete a set of 9 images.  Take only one photograph at each location and none in between.  Spend no more than one minute composing the image then move on to the next.  The first image at each location will be the one you keep.  Do not delete or retake any images.

The above gallery of images were taken in Sheffield on 2 October  12:15 – 13:00hrs

45 is a photographic exercise in creating images from random subjects.  Images that in other circumstances you may not consider photographing.  With the discipline of first shot only, in a fixed period of time the photographs are likely to be more intuitive.  Some images will work better than others.  The fun is in the taking and in the review of images captured.  You may be surprised by which locations provide the most interesting shots.  My gallery of images were taken with a zoom lens.  45 can be made more challenging by using a prime lens to complete the 9 images.   45 applies a set of rules to challenge the photographer to work outside of their normal way  thinking and working.  Good and less good photographs are equally valid and when viewed as a set may offer some interesting insights and ideas to reflect on.  They may inspire others to give it a go…

If you wish to participate in 45 then please leave a comment below with a link to your gallery of nine images and also the date, time and place*.  Of course you can participate in 45 without leaving any information. Hopefully you’ll enjoy the experience and it may even reveal something new in your photography.

Have fun…

This blog post have evolved into a brand new wordpress blog called Forty Five.

Feel free to visit and participate HERE

 

13 thoughts on “45

    • Hi Steel City Anna,
      Great work.
      Consider yourself officially inducted into The 45!
      I’m impressed that you so quickly embraced the idea of 45 but equally impressed with images you shot and the notes of your walk. The notes on your wander are wonderful and that it took you on a route you might otherwise not have taken is even better. Your observations about resisting temptation to fall into being drawn to subjects you might normally take felt familiar to me. 45 forces you to be creative in your immediate environment and doesn’t give much thinking time.
      To have fun and to be challenged with your photography is the whole point. I hope you enjoyed reviewing your images too. Personally I think you got some excellent shots. Maybe the pressure tapped into a seam of creativity. I am familiar with some of your subjects but for me it is how you have seen something different in those scenes. The fact that with 45 you end up standing in a place you might never normally choose to stand to take a photo adds an interesting dimension too.
      Together your photographs make a terrific mini gallery and individually there are some real gems.
      Because the light is so good from the angle you have taken the shot, and that it isolates the subject well I think my immediate favourite is the Cenotaph war memorial soldiers. I like that the flag pole rope is visible in the shot. It offers a bit more information about the subject. The light is great so how brilliant your 45 took you to that moment!
      The telephone box is also nicely observed. I like that you got up close for the detail of the elephant.
      The graffiti in the dust on the window made me smile. I enjoy seeing all the little human interventions, be it graffiti, artworks or interesting accidental moments. I’m not sure the system is any more f***ed by the addition of the statement!
      Popworld looks anything but popular!
      All in all I applaud not only your enthusiasm for 45 but also your images. I didn’t expect anyone to provide a commentary of their route so that was a wonderful bonus.
      When I find time and the weather is on my side, I will this week be doing a second 45… Watch this space…
      Thank you for sharing your words and images.
      Best wishes
      Mr Cafe 🙂

  1. Thanks for your lovely feedback! I was really lucky with the light last night. When I had put the pictures together I thought there was a little theme there, subconsciously maybe. The message in the middle, and it was funny it had to go in the middle simply because of the order the photos were taken, is surrounded by symbols of work, law (the second photo) and war, then it ends with a free bird in the garden of peace 🙂

    I think apart from the first photo I wouldn’t have taken any of these if it wasn’t for the exercise, so I really liked having to think in new ways.

    Looking forward to see your next ’45’!

  2. This is such a clever idea/project for all photographers. The ‘Ability to See’ is a concept that is very difficult to teach or learn but it develops partly as a result of us deliberately setting ourselves visual challenges – and this is a simple idea that only requires 45 minutes of time. Congratulations on the idea Mr Cafe. It will be fascinating to see how this evolves.

    • I’m pleased you are enthusiastic about the idea of 45.
      So most definitely, I would be flattered if you reblog the original 45 post and maybe even mention the new site….
      It is hard to know how others might see it but generally it seems to have been met with approval and already a few people have had a go. Even one of my friends who doesn’t blog!
      As a result I have started a new site called Forty Five and it will be to share peoples experience and photographs of their 45.
      I had started to draft an email to you in which I was going to invite you to participate. I very much enjoy your photography and would love to see what you come up with. If you decide to give it a go you could publish your thoughts and images on your site and if you approve I could reblog on Forty Five. It is an interesting process and one I think all photographers of all abilities might get get something from.
      The Forty Five site is here: https://takeninephotosinfortyfiveminutes.wordpress.com
      I put it up yesterday. It is early days and I’m sure it needs some tweaking and rewording but it’s up and running and it will be interesting to see if people wish to join in the Forty Five community…
      Thanks and best wishes,
      Mr C 🙂

      • I took a look at the new site and have it marked as a ‘follow’. Yes, I will have a go – when I go somewhere new. Not sure when that will be. Curiously I was in Dorking just two days ago and came away with an assortment of images, but they were not timed.

  3. Pingback: 45 | Forty Five | Postcard Cafe

Please leave your comment in the box below

